top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaureen Gongon

Students Clash in Switch to Distance Learning

Updated: Feb 1, 2022

BORONGAN CITY, Eastern Samar -- Ensuring safety against the peril brought by COVID-19, The District IV alongside the rest of the Borongan City Division, turned anew to declare the switch to the Modular Learning Modality back in October 2020.

It is the first time that this learning modality has been introduced as a resort, and yet the implementation appears successful in the running.

Viyetriz Verana is a grade 8 student from Eastern Samar National Comprehensive High School (ESNCHS) who has been under the new learning modality since 7th grade. Despite the sudden shift, she finds the first-hand experience of Modular Learning adequate.

"Independence ruled in me as I did not physically step in High School. I find it thrilling to study on my own since I have observed that I reflect on the lessons better," Verana shared.

10th grader, Jude Lalosa, also from ESNCHS, keeps up the same stance. He expresses about his well adaptation to the learning modality that allows him to work in his own pace.

"I can get a breath of relief from time to time since I am able to maximize my time to do the requirements given ahead of me. I just have to continue practicing an effective time-management," Lalosa spoke.

In contrast to perspectives, it is not the same case for the Taboc resident and Accountancy Business Management (ABM) student, Clyde Boco, who was an achiever throughout his previous academic years.

"My responsibilities at home often get in line with my workload for school. Due to that, I tend to be prone to distractions, causing me to get my school works done at a later time," said Boco.

The grade 11 student is now having a hard time balancing his priorities with the pressure of the wellness of his studies.


"I find it challenging to self-learn since I have not been used to this new learning modality," he added.

The sentiment was echoed by Juliana Acorin who studies in Saint Mary's College of Borongan (SMCB) as a 9th grader. She admits she gets lost in the middle of lacking further lectures about their lessons.


"It is quite difficult to not have the physical discussions that I was used to anymore. We, students, have to interpret the lessons on our own now so some, like me, tend to not absorb them as efficiently as before," Acorin voiced out.

Many students like Acorin hope for the wellness of the academic performance of all, despite differences.

Although the new Modular Learning Modality screams victor in terms of its pursuance, it remains diverse in the complementary academic performance of every student.

Comments


bottom of page